skip to main content
Accreditation

Parking on Campus

Parking on Campus

Any vehicle parking on campus must be registered with Montana Western's Business Services Office, and must display a current Montana Western parking permit.

Montana Western Students do not pay a parking fee. Commuter and Resident Parking Permits are available at Business Services located in the James E. Short Center for all students that apply for them, giving them the ability to utilize the parking on campus. Parking is not guaranteed just because a permit is obtained. Parking is limited and goes quickly!

Commuter Permits are issued to persons commuting to campus. They may park in designated commuter parking lots. Commuters are not permitted to park in resident lots.

Resident Permits are issued to persons living in the residence halls. They may park anywhere in the designated residence hall lots.  Residents are not permitted to park in commuter lots.

Montana Youth Challenge permitted vehicles must park in MYC designated parking spaces only. If residence changes from the Resident to Commuter, or from Commuter to Resident, a new decal reflecting that change must be picked up from Business Services, in exchange for the old one.

One of the above mentioned permits is issued to persons with a documented disability. These people may park in appropriately signed areas in any lot.

Reserved Permits are purchased for reserved parking. This allows the person one private parking space Monday thru Friday for designated periods of time.

Temporary Permits are issued as a daily or weekly permit.

ALL HANGERS MUST BE DISPLAYED ON THE REARVIEW MIRROR. THE HANGER MUST BE CLEARLY VISIBLE.

Short term parking for pick-up and delivery is provided in various convenient locations around campus. The maximum time allotted is 20 minutes. Visitor parking is available in various locations around campus. A visitor is deemed any person not faculty, staff, or student, having occasion to park on campus. This includes those persons attending conventions, meetings, workshops, or having official business. Temporary hangers can be purchased from the Business Services Office and can be used for all Commuter and Resident lots. Go to top



Faculty/Staff Permit Fees

Status

Semester

Year

 
Faculty/Staff

$30.00

    $60.00

 
 Reserved

  $200.00

 
Temporary/Visitor

$1.00/day

$5.00/week

 



Permit replacement $7.50

Please remember that there must be a yellow line on EACH side of your vehicle for it to be a valid parking space.
 

Parking Regulations

Click here for full Vechicle Regulations

  • Parking in a fire lane is not permitted.
  • Parking on lawns/sidewalks is not permitted.
  • Parking in a Quick Stop longer that 20 minutes is not permitted.
  • Parking in Disabled parking without an appropriate permit is forbidden.
  • Parking in Reserved parking without an appropriate permit is forbidden.
  • Driving in excess of 5 mph is not permitted.
  • Parking so as to take up two spaces is not permitted.
  • Parking in a restricted parking area without an appropriate permit is forbidden.


Schedule of Fines

$100- (1) Disabled Parking

$20- All other Violations Failure to pay fines or file an appeal within five business days of the date specified on the notice of the traffic violation will result in grades and transcripts being held.  

Towing/Wheel Lock Policy

  • Vehicles may be towed/wheel locked at the owner's expense from these areas: any special permit area, reserved parking, disabled parking, fire lanes, fire hydrants, lawns, loading docks, Quick Stop, or special towing zones.
  • A vehicle may be towed at owner expense when it is left in such a position as to substantially endanger public safety, when said vehicle interferes with University functions or operations in such a manner that removal is imperative, or when said vehicle is parked in areas of the University likely to be harmed by vehicles parked thereon.
  • Any abandoned vehicles will be towed away at the owner's expense.
  • Vehicles may be towed/wheel locked at owner's expense if the vehicle has accumulated five or more tickets.
  • Vehicle owners may redeem their vehicles by paying the towing service operator fees.

Go to top

Appeals

Appeals forms may be obtained at the Business Services Office. Appellants may have their fines reviewed based upon a written appeal or appear in person before the Traffic Appeals Review Committee. Students with vehicles may register them during registration at the Business Services Office. For complete Vehicle and Traffic Regulations contact the Business Services Office in the James E. Short Center.

Telephone Bills

Telephone Bills

To view departmental summary or detailed phone billing information for related months use the following steps:

  1. Select the file (you must have Adobe Reader installed): 
    "Department Summary" contains all accounts assigned to a specific index code; 
    "Call Detail" contains long distance and monthly charges per the telephone number.
  2. After file opens in Adobe, right click within the file and select "find"  or use Ctrl F  to search by index code, name, phone number, etc.
  3. Print call detail bills by page number or range or pages.
  4. Print summary information by selecting the desired text.

2017

July 2017, Department Summary
July 2017, Call Detail

June 2017, Department Summary
June 2017, Call Detail

May 2017, Department Summary
May 2017, Call Detail

April 2017, Department Summary
April 2017, Call Detail

March 2017, Department Summary
March 2017, Call Detail

February 2017, Department Summary
February 2017, Call Detail

January 2017, Department Summary
January 2017, Call Detail

2016

December 2016, Department Summary
December 2016, Call Detail

November 2016, Department Summary
November 2016, Call Detail

November 2016, Department Summary
November 2016, Call Detail

October 2016, Department Summary
October 2016, Call Detail

September 2016, Department Summary
September 2016, Call Detail

August 2016, Department Summary
August 2016, Call Detail

July 2016, Department Summary
July 2016, Call Detail

June 2016, Department Summary
June 2016, Call Detail

May 2016, Department Summary
May 2016, Call Detail

April 2016, Department Summary
April 2016, Call Detail

March 2016, Department Summary
March 2016, Call Detail

February 2016, Department Summary
February 2016, Call Detail

January 2016, Department Summary
January 2016, Call Detail


2015

December 2015, Department Summary
December 2015, Call Detail

November 2015, Department Summary
November 2015, Call Detail

October 2015, Department Summary
October 2015, Call Detail

September 2015, Department Summary
September 2015, Call Detail

August 2015, Department Summary
August 2015, Call Detail

July 2015, Department Summary
July 2015, Call Detail

June 2015, Department Summary
June 2015, Call Detail

May 2015, Department Summary
May 2015, Call Detail

April 2015, Department Summary
April 2015, Call Detail

March 2015, Department Summary
March 2015, Call Detail

February 2015, Department Summary
February 2015, Call Detail

January 2015, Department Summary
January 2015, Call Detail

Forms

2017 -2018 Verification Forms

Choose dependent forms if you were required to include parent's information on your FAFSA.

2017 - 2018 Verification Forms
2017-2018 Student Data Form
Instructions for Tax Filers
Instructions for Verfication of Non-Filing Letter
V1 Dependent 17-18
V1 Independent 17-18 
V4 Dependent Statement of Ed Purpose 17-18
V4 Independent Statement of Ed Purpose 17-18
V5 Dependent 17-18 
V5 Independent 17-18
Employee Forms Only
Bi-weekly Time Record
Employee Request for Leave of Absence/Work Comp Time 
Time Allocation Report
Student Forms
Deferred Payment Contract
American Indian Tuition Waiver Form
Faculty/Staff Tuition Form
MUS Dependent Tuition Waiver
Senior Citizen Tuition Waiver Form
Veteran's Tuition Waiver Form

 

For more information about Business Services

 For more information about the Financial Aid Office

TUITION WAIVERS  

For more information about Fee waivers see the Financial Aid Office link above.

 

 

Printable Forms

Academic Policy Waiver or Enrollment Status Change
Application for Graduation  
Course Repeat Form
Course Substitution/Waiver Request
Course/Credit Overload Petition & Double-Block Form
Contract- Coop Ed, Internship, Senior Project/Thesis Contract or Research
Contract- Independent/Directed Study Contract
Early Commencement Petition
Hold Harmless Report
Honors Program Application
Readmission Application
Registration for New Students
Registration Form - Fall or Spring Term
Request to Change Student Information
Request for Transmittal of Application Material
Transcript Request Form
Transmittal Form
Verification of Enrollment

FINANCIAL AID FORMS

Appeals Forms
Consortium Agreement
Inclusion of Parent Form
Special Conditions 
Federal Direct Loan Deferment Request Form
Veterans Educational Benefits
Parent Plus Loan Application
Student Release Of Personally Identifiable And Confidential Information
Dependency Override Form
Progress Appeal Form
Satisfactory Progress Policy
Statement of Educational Purpose
Worksheet

Paying for School

Paying for School


Student Fee Payment Policy
In order to finalize enrollment for a term, students must pay the outstanding balance on or before the first day of the semester. Students may enter into a deferred payment contract and make a payment of one-third of the balance due, on or before the first day of classes of that semester. The deferred payment contract is available on our Dawgs website (http://dawgs.umwestern.edu). Students who are registered and add courses to their schedule after the 5th day of the semester must make payment-in-full for the additional credits at the time of registration. Students that register late (after block 1 or block 5) will be assessed a late registration/payment fee and will need to make a payment on their account when they receive their first bill or the second day of their first class. If a payment is not received by the end of the second class day the student will be administratively withdrawn from all classes they are registered for in that semester. 

Montana Western also offers access to a third-party managed Tuition Installment Payment Plan.  This plan allows students to pay for each semester in  five (5) payments.  For more information go to UMW.collegetipp.com.

HOW DO I ACCESS MY BILL ONLINE?
Logon to your DAWGS account (See How do I logon to my DAWGS account?)
Select Student Accounts
Select Account Summary by Term
*You are also able to make an epayment from this page.
Scroll to the top of the page and select Make an Epayment.

WHEN DO I HAVE TO PAY FOR MY CLASSES?
Payment in full is due on or before the first day of each semester.

CAN I MAKE PAYMENTS?
Business Services offers a Deferred Payment Contract that will split your balance into two equal payments. You must stop by Business Services and pick up a form or print it off online by clicking on the link below:
(Deferred Payment Contact Form)

By entering into this contract you will be able to pay your bill this Fall in two equal payments. Please see the contract for the scheduled payments.  If payments are not received in the business office on or before any of these due dates, a late charge of $15.00 will be put on your account and your student registration may get dropped.

ALL MY FEES ARE BEING PAID BY FINANCIAL AID (or some other source, i.e. Vocational Rehabilitation, Job Service, Department of Military Affairs, etc) IS THERE ANYTHING I NEED TO DO ABOUT FEES?
Yes, check in at Business Services. We need to know your arrangements. If you do not check in with Business Services, your registration may be cancelled.
If your financial aid (or other source) has not paid your outstanding balance on or before the first day of the semester you must enter into a Deferred Payment Contract.
For third party please contact Tina Walter at 406-683-7101.

HOW DO I MAKE A PAYMENT ONLINE?
Logon to your DAWGS account (See How do I logon to my DAWGS account?)
Select Student Accounts
Select Make a Payment on Your Account

IF I WITHDRAWAL FROM SCHOOL WILL I GET ANY MONEY BACK?
Business Services calculates your withdrawal by the date you turn in your withdrawal form to the Registrar’s office.(http://my.umwestern.edu/registrar/FormStuClassSchedChanges.pdf)  
Please see Refund of Fees Policy below.

Refund of Fees Policy

Refund for Withdrawal from the University 
Students who withdraw or drop below full-time status during a regular 16-week semester will receive a refund based upon the number of instruction days of a semester completed from the start of classes of a term until the time a student completes official action to drop/withdraw. The withdrawal process begins and ends at the Registrar’s Office. The date used in determining the amount credited to the student’s account is the official withdrawal date as recorded by the UMW Registrar. There is no refund after the 15th class day of a term. 

Students using the deferred payment plan will have their withdrawal credit applied to their student account, but may still owe some or all of the deferred balance. All existing debts such as a deferred payment plan balance, library charges, bookstore charges, etc., will be deducted from any refund due the student. For further information, contact Business Services. 
Note: The $30 Registration Fee, $30 Admissions Application Fee, and $75 Orientation Fee are non-refundable.

Refund of Fees – Dropped Courses
The refund of fees for dropped courses is computed in accordance with the University’s regular fee schedule. No refund or credit is given for drops occurring after the 15th instructional day during a standard academic semester or the pro-rated equivalency during a shorter term. 

Refund of Fees for Withdrawal from UMW – Regular Semester
Fees are refunded to students on a pro-rated basis in accordance with Montana Board of Regents and federal regulations for those who officially withdraw from Montana Western or drop below full-time status. The amount of fees refunded is based upon the date official action to drop/withdraw is completed, the student’s classification, and the amount of related fees paid. Students are considered enrolled up to the date the Registrar’s Office validates the official withdrawal request or Drop/Add/Withdrawal form. Only in unusual or emergency situations will the Registrar’s Office post-date a withdrawal/drop and/or last date of attendance as a basis for calculating a refund. 

Withdrawal Date for Regular Semester
Refund percentages shown below do not include any nonrefundable fees. The “Day of Instruction” pertains to the instructional day of the term as determined by the Academic Calendar (usually the first day of the first block of the semester).
Regular Semester Withdrawal Date Refund %
Before 1st Day of Instruction                        100%
1st to 5th Day of Instruction                          90%
6th to 10th Day of Instruction                        75%
11th to 15th Day of Instruction                      50%
After 15th Day of Instruction                           0%

Refund of Fees for Withdrawal from UMW
(Time-Shortened Terms (Summer Session) )
Students withdrawing from UMW during a term that is shorter than a regular 16-week semester will receive a refund based upon the percentage of the term completed and the amount of related fees paid. The following schedule reflects the percentage of the paid fees to be refunded in these instances. Refund percentages shown below do not include any nonrefundable fees. 

Withdrawal Date for Time-Shortened Courses    
The “Day of Instruction” pertains to the instructional day of the term as determined by the Academic Calendar. 

Time-Shortened Course Withdrawal Date Refund %
Before 1st Day of Instruction                                         100%
1% to 6.25% Instruction Days of Term Completed             90%
6.26% to 12.5% Instruction Days of Term Completed         75%
12.51% to 18.75% Instruction Days of Term Completed      50%
More than 18.75% Instruction Days of Term Completed       0%

Return of Federal Aid Funds
Federal regulations define the amount of federal aid funds to be returned by students who have received aid for the semester in which they withdraw. Students who have received aid must consult the Financial Aid Office before withdrawing. 

Refund of Room & Board Charges
Fees paid for room and board charges are refunded on a pro-rata basis. During the final two weeks of the term, room fees will be forfeited. Residence Hall and
Dining Service fee refunds are calculated on a daily pro-rated basis for students officially withdrawing from Montana Western. No Residence Hall or Dining Service refunds are made to students who have claimed their reservations for any semester by picking up a key or residing in a hall unless the student has officially withdrawn from UMW by the published deadline for withdrawal. 

Medical Withdrawal
Medical withdrawals are granted for significant medical problems. Refunds for medical withdrawals initiated after the third week of classes are reviewed only if a significant medical problem originated in the first three weeks. Documentation from a medical provider must be provided. Please contact Business Services concerning a medical withdrawal.

Outreach/Extension Withdrawal
Requests for withdrawal from Outreach/Extension courses must be submitted in writing to the School of Outreach. Exceptions may apply to courses requiring the prepayment of fees. Exceptions are described in the Outreach Bulletins.

Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions

HOW DO I LOGON TO MY DAWGS ACCOUNT?
Enter the web address dawgs.umwestern.edu on the internet
Scroll down to Tools
Select Registration/Student Info
Select Login to Dawgs Enter User ID (Student ID Number)
Enter Pin Number (Birthday, for example February 12, 1980 would be 021280)
Click on Login Button

HOW DO I ACCESS MY BILL ONLINE?
Logon to your DAWGS account
Select Student Accounts
Select Account Summary by Term
*You are also able to make an epayment from this page. Scroll to the top of the page and select Make an Epayment.

WHEN DO I HAVE TO PAY FOR MY CLASSES?
Payment in full is due on or before the first day of each semester.

CAN I MAKE PAYMENTS?
Business Services offers a two different  Payment Plans.
The first Deferred Payment Contract will split your balance into three equal payments. You may pick up a contract at Business Services or print this online form. By entering into this contract you will be able to pay your bill in three equal payments:
  • The first payment is due on or before the first day of the semester along with the $30.00 deferred payment fee.
  • The second payment is due 30 days later.
  • The final payment is due 60 days after the first day of the semester.
If payments are not received in the business office on or before any of these due dates, a late charge of $15.00 will be put on your account or your student registration may be dropped for non payment.
The second Payment Plan will split your bill into five equal payments. This payment plan you may sign up for online only at UMW.collegetipp.com.

ALL MY FEES ARE BEING PAID BY FINANCIAL AID (or some other source, i.e. Vocational Rehabilitation, Job Service, Department of Military Affairs, etc) IS THERE ANYTHING I NEED TO DO ABOUT FEES?
Yes, check in at Business Services. We need to know your arrangements. If you do not check in with Business Services, your registration may be cancelled. If your financial aid (or other source) has not paid your outstanding balance on or before the first day of the semester you must enter into a Deferred Payment Contract. For third party payment, please contact Tina Walter at 406-683-7101.

HOW DO I MAKE A PAYMENT ONLINE?
 Logon to your DAWGS account 
  • Select Student Accounts
  • Select Make a Payment on Your Account
HOW DO I GET A BOOKSTORE AUTHORIZATION?
Logon to your DAWGS account
Select Student Accounts
Select Bookstore Authorization
Select the term you want the bookstore authorization for
Select Submit
Electronic Bookstore authorizations are only available before the first day of each semester. After that you must complete a paper form. This form is available at Business Services or your DAWGS account online under Registration/Authorization Form. It will then be automatically submitted to Business Services (it is the students responsiblity to make sure the form was received). Bookstore authorizations are not available if your outstanding balance is zero.

HOW DO I LOGON TO MY E-MAIL ACCOUNT?
Enter the web address mail.umwestern.edu on the internet
Under UMW TOOLS select email 
Type in your Username (example: John Smith would be john.smith)
Type in your Password (Usually Your Student ID Number)

HOW DO I WAIVE OR KEEP UMW HEALTH INSURANCE?
You are required to complete the online Registration Finalization before you are able to register each semester. The online Registration Finalization consists of seven questions. The fifth question requires you to either accept the University's health insurance or waive the health insurance. If you have the health insurance charge on your bill you have elected to keep UMW’s Health Insurance. UMW Health Insurance must be waived before the 15th day of the semester. 
 
I selected Yes when I meant to select NO  OR  I selected NO when I meant to select Yes
Send an email from your student account to businessservices@umwestern.edu requesting the survey be reset. 
This email must come from your account @umwestern.edu, please include your student ID number.
The online Registration Finalization Form will be reset and you may enter the correct information.

HOW DO I GET MY REFUND?
If you have a refund it will be available for you to pickup at Business Services (a signature is required).  Please check your DAWGS account to determine when your refund has been ordered.  Refunds are not issued for under $5.

Refund warrants not cashed will staledate with the State of Montana in six months.  Please contact Business Services for information on warrant replacement or how to obtain unclaimed funds. 

HOW DO I GET MY REFUND IF I AM NOT IN DILLON?
 You can request Business Services to mail your refund to you. Send an email from your University account to BusinessServices@umwestern.edu. Please put in the email:
  • a request for us to mail the refund
  • the term that the refund is for
  • your ID number
  • the address where you want it mailed
HOW DO I PRINT MY 1098T FORM ONLINE?
Logon to your DAWGS account
Select Student Records
Select Tax Information
Select View your 1098T Form
Enter in the Tax Year
Click on Submit
Click on File then Print

Travel Tips

Travel Tips

If you have any questions call Cara at (406) 683-7352

  • An employee must obtain verbal approval to travel on behalf of the University, you will then complete a formal Request and Authorization to Travel form.  The form must be authorized by the supervisor or head of the department
  • Pre-Plan your Trip
  • Make your airline reservations at least 2 weeks in advance, checking with airlines, travel agencies, or online travel sites for the least expensive service available
  • Trips should be scheduled to avoid any unnecessary backtracking and overlapping
  • Make your hotel reservations requesting the State or Federal per diem rate
  • Make your car rental reservations requesting an economical car and refusing additional insurance
  • All airline tickets, hotels and rental cars must be purchased with the UM Procard
  • All travel must be turned in within 30 days of traveling
  • The traveler should make a copy of all Procard receipts obtained to be placed with the Travel Voucher upon return.
  • Turn in all original Procard receipts to the Procard Manager (Patty Rose) for payment
  • Once the trip has been taken the traveler should submit the Travel Expense Voucher with all copies of the Procard charges for that trip as well as all new expenses and receipts for reimbursement
  • It is the responsibility of the traveler to see that all receipts are attached to the Travel Expense Voucher.  Receipts are very important
  • No gratuities can be charged to the Procard while traveling
  • Travelers can obtain a Travel Advance for meals only.  All Travel Advances must be turned in at least 2 weeks in advance of traveling
  • A Travel Advance must be for $50.00 or more

Travel

Travel


Please use the following information and forms for all travel.
State Travel Policy
Travel Advance/Authorization to Travel
Group Travel Notification Form
Travel Expense Report
Lodging Reimbursement Request
For lodging rates outside of state policy
(Montana High Lodging Rate Cities)


Mileage Rates
Allowable Per Diem Rate Plus Taxes (Out-of-state lodging ONLY)

University departments and offices are authorized to approve travel and are responsible for the proper use and management of travel resources.  The managers of departments/offices are responsible to ensure that travel is directly related to an objective of the University, that adequate funds are available and that all travel is in accordance with University Travel Guidelines. 

All travel requires consent of the traveler’s supervisor and approval by the administrator /manager in charge of the departmental index code funding the travel.  Although there is no formal authorization procedure, each Dean/Director should develop travel authorization /approval guidelines that will be used in their unit.

The travel policy allows cost reimbursement to employees and students engage in “official” University travel. Before travel costs can be reimbursed, documentation requirements must be satisfied.  In addition, there are limitations placed on the amount of reimbursement allowed for travel.  These requirements and limitations are explained in the Travel Guidelines.  The Travel Guidelines also include a travel process chart, which provides an overview of the steps required for travel.  For complete information read the State Travel Policy.

Questions concerning travel should be directed to the Travel Desk, (ext. 7101) located in Business Services.