Provost Search

Applications and Nominations for Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs


The University of Montana Western seeks a confident and experienced individual to serve as Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs.

Kenny Daugherty, President of Myers McRae Executive Search and Consulting, is assisting the University of Montana Western with this search.


Search Timeline


  • August 23: Profile and Advertising Approved
  • TBD: Initial Search Committee Meeting
  • October 14: Deadline for Best Consideration
  • October 20: Selection of Candidates for Video Interviews
  • October 27 & 28: Video Interview Dates
  • November 8 – 12: Campus Visit Dates

Search Committee Members


Name Email Phone
Laura Straus – Chair laura.straus@umwestern.edu 406-683-7040
John Xanthopoulos john.xanthopoulos@umwestern.edu 406-683-7018
Shane Borrowman shane.borrowman@umwestern.edu 406-683-7307
Charlene Loge
Michael Gilbert mike.gilbert@umwestern.edu 406-683-7041
Randy Shipman
Kurt Steadman kurt.steadman@umwestern.edu 406-683-7183
Janelle Handlos janelle.handlos@umwestern.edu 406-683-7392
Charity Walters charity.walters@umwestern.edu 406-683-7471
Marni Fifield marni.fifield@umwestern.edu 406-683-7324
Heather Haas heather.haas@umwestern.edu 406-683-7265
Matt Allen matt.allen@umwestern.edu 406-683-7540
Jacob Kunze jacob.kunze@umwestern.edu 406-683-7611