University of Montana Western logo.
Apply Visit More Info


The personal safety of students, faculty, staff, and visitors is of primary importance at the University of Montana Western.  The College regularly reviews security and safety procedures as well as emergency response plans with the goal of minimizing the risks and consequences of violence in our community.

Membership on the Committee represents staff, faculty, and students.  The Committee is chaired by the Campus Safety Officer.  The Associated Students of the University of Montana Western (ASUMW) nominate, from among their members, representative(s) to the Committee.  

The committee, which meets regularly, considers policies and practices that address campus security, personal safety, crime prevention, sexual assault, and concerns, including complaints that members of our community raise about security and safety.  The committee reviews crime statistics affecting the campus and focuses attention on improving practices affecting members of our community. Each year, the Committee reports its findings about campus security and its recommendations for improving the safety and security of all members of our community to the College President.



Monique Schofield, Safety Officer 

Community Members

Jeremy Alvarez, Chief, Dillon Police Department
Byron “BJ” Klose, Chief, Dillon Fire Department
Sue Hansen RN, Director, Beaverhead County Public Health
Tom Wagenknecht, Department of Emergency Services, Beaverhead County
David Wendt, Sheriff, Beaverhead County 


Sally Cobau, English Department 
Dr. Mitch Stephenson, Health and Human Performance 


Michael Brown, Director of Facility Services 
Mel Ewing, Director of Information Technology  
Michael Feuling, Athletic Director
Jennifer Fox, Academic Advisor 
Dr. Randy Johnson, Director of Student Services  
Tara Jones, Director of Dining Services 
Nicole Hazelbaker, Dean of Students 
Mike Piazzola, Sr, Director of Auxiliary Services 
Matt Raffety, Director of Communications

Student Representative 

Maggie Lund 

Montana Youth Challenge 

Trent Gibson, Academy Director 

Meeting Schedule 

Meetings are held on the last Tuesday of the month.  

Meeting Minutes Archives               

Click the link to access past meeting minutes