University of Montana Western logo.
Apply Visit More Info

Committee plans inaugural celebration.

July 24, 2015

Beth Weatherby who became chancellor Jan. 15. came to Montana Western after serving as provost of Southwest Minnesota State University in Marshall, Minn. for the past seven years. She is the 22nd chancellor at Montana Western since its founding in 1893.

Weatherby said, “Montana Western’s Experience One creates an unparalleled learning experience for students which sets the institution apart from all others.”

This year represents the 10th year under the university’s innovative Experience One where students take a single class at a time. The unique scheduling program provides hands-on, real-world experience for students in a concentrated environment, Weatherby said.

The inauguration ceremony is planned for 2 p.m. followed by a showcase of experiential learning by Montana Western faculty. 

In addition, a fundraising reception and dinner is scheduled that evening to highlight the benefit that scholarships provide for students. All proceeds from the event will fund additional student scholarships. 

Inaugural committee members include Roxanne Engellant, Sylvia Moore, Lindsay Gaasch, Mike Morrow, Vikki Howard, Kent Ord, Shelly Kessel, Donna Rouse, Charlene Loge, Kathy Simkins, Brent McCabe, Beth Weatherby and Tom Welch.

For more information about inaugural events call 406-683-7151.