University of Montana Western logo.
Apply Visit More Info

Inaugural Chapter Induction Held for Sigma Beta Delta Honor Society

April 25, 2018

The University of Montana Western held its inaugural chapter induction of the Sigma Beta Delta International Honor Society in Business, Management, and Administration on April 25, 2018.

Sigma Beta Delta Inductees

Founded in 1994, the purposes of Sigma Beta Delta are to “encourage and recognize scholarship among students of business, management, and administration; and to encourage and promote aspirations towards personal and professional improvement and a life distinguished by honorable service to humankind,” according to the society’s website.

The Spring 2018 University of Montana Western inductees are: Riley King, Tess Turk, Caleb Arnold, Rocky Crandell, Oliver Grupenhoff, Timothy Meo, Cree Minkoff, Jaci Nesbit, Marcus Payne, Shantel Pilon, Jennifer Sweitzer, and Regan Wubben.

The “Top Boy” recognized during the induction was Riley King, and the “Top Girl” was Tess Turk.

The Business and Technology Department faculty led the proceedings, which included the induction ceremony and recital of the Sigma Beta Delta pledge.

According to the society, Sigma Beta Delta honors students who have attained superior records in business programs at schools and colleges with regional accreditation.

Rocky Crandell

The creation of Sigma Beta Delta follows a 200-year tradition of honoring scholastic achievement in higher education, beginning with the establishment of Phi Beta Kappa honor society in Williamsburg, Virginia, in 1776.

Sigma Beta Delta installed its first chapter in March 1994 at Belmont University. Since that time, Sigma Beta Delta has installed over 450 chapters in the United States and internationally and inducted 100,000 members.