University of Montana Western logo.
Apply Visit More Info

Montana Western and Stockman Bank Recognize Outstanding Teacher Candidates

June 4, 2021

The University of Montana Western and Stockman Bank recognized the 2021 Outstanding Teacher Candidates at Commencement earlier this spring. These inspiring UMW graduating seniors will be teaching and enriching their communities this fall.

Outstanding Teacher Candidates:

  • Tia Ware
  • Daniel Connelly
  • McKenna Fink
  • Lexi Higareda
  • Kennedy Grubich
  • Cameron Fuentez
  • Lindsey Buckley
  • Alyssa Owen
  • Molly Huber
  • Kacin Bolinger-Perret
  • Alex Rouse
  • Destiny Wallace
  • Gennifer Sauter

Stockman Bank also sponsors a special award and scholarship to support UMW education students, the Stock Your Classroom Award and the Take Stock in Education Scholarship.

Stock Your Classroom Award

The Stock your Classroom award is a cash award for a new teacher to purchase much-needed items for their classroom. This award was the idea of V.P. Branch Manager Shane Puyear of Dillon’s Stockman Bank. Shane and his wife Lacie (Scott) are both alumni of UMW and Lacie is a 5th grade teacher at Parkview Elementary School. Shane has seen firsthand how teachers often need to purchase additional supplies for their classroom and thought this would be a meaningful award for a new teacher.

This year’s Stock Your Classroom Award recipient is Kennedy Grubich. Grubich is an Elementary Education major and will be in charge of her first classroom this fall. She has been hired as a kindergarten teacher in Sidney, Mont., and comes from a long line of educators. She is looking forward to being a part of her students’ lives and helping them grow and achieve their goals 

Take Stock in Education Scholarship

The Take Stock in Education Scholarship is awarded to a Montana Western education student to assist them with their cost of attendance. This year’s Take Stock in Education Scholarship recipient is UMW junior, Hayden Mosness. Mosness is a Physical Education and Health K-12 major from Big Timber, Mont. He is inspired to become an educator to help his future students become their best selves by supporting their physical and mental health.

While unable to host the Night of Stars Education Hall of Fame event this spring, the following individuals will be honored in the spring of 2022 on the Montana Western campus.

Education Hall of Fame Inductees:

  • Jim Keef
  • Kent Paulson
  • Christina Sieminski­
  • Anke Davis

Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient: 

  • Earl Barlow

Friends of Education Award: 

  • Karyle Contway
  • Vickie Lansing
  • Donna Rouse
  • Linda Lucero

Stockman Bank continues to partner with the UMW Education Department and Alumni Office in support of this event that recognizes outstanding educators.

“We are grateful for their continued support in recognizing our educators. Generations of teachers in Montana and around the region began their journey at Montana Western. The Night of Stars Education Hall of Fame event celebrates teachers past, present and future who have made or are certain to make a difference in the lives of our youth,” said Alumni Office and Foundation Director, Roxanne Engellant.

For more information about the Night of Stars, contact the University of Montana Western Foundation at 406-683-7305 or visit the Foundation website.