University of Montana Western logo.
Apply Visit More Info

UMW Welcomes Youth Serve Scholarship Recipients

August 16, 2018

As members of the incoming fall 2018 class, the campus community is pleased to welcome seven “Youth Serve Montana” Scholarship recipients.

Main Hall

This scholarship is made possible through a partnership between Montana Campus Compact, the Governor’s Office of Community Service and the Reach Higher Montana. This scholarship annually honors 100 incoming freshman who have been exemplary community volunteers during their high school careers in Montana.

Each student completed at least 100 hours of service. The incoming students are Kimberlee Ollinger (Browning), Brenna Combs (Conrad), Avery Harris (Fairfield), Kayla Underwood (Great Falls), Ian McCants (Shelby), Payton Frields (Trout Creek), and Brooke Wiltbank (Hamilton).

“Congratulations to the students who were awarded with a Youth Serve Montana Scholarship to help further their learning in our state,” said Dan Ritter, Director of the Governor’s Office of Community Service. “We hope these students will continue to apply this passion of making a difference for others at Montana’s institutions of higher education and down the road as they enter the workforce.”

According to its website, “Montana Campus Compact advances the public purposes of colleges and universities by deepening their ability to improve community life and to educate students for civic and social responsibility. Our organization is one of 35 State Affiliates of Campus Compact, a national coalition of 1,100 college and university presidents–representing over 6 million students–dedicated to promoting community service, civic engagement, and service-learning in higher education.”

The Compact’s current membership includes Montana’s two-year, four-year, public, private, tribal, and community colleges and universities, as well as a network office located in Missoula, Mont.